Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 4
1 23 > Last »
All Cigar Discussion>I've never bought a box
Tenor CS 07:10 AM 12-13-2008
Here's a question to you more experienced guys:

How long were you smoking before you bought a complete box?

I've been smoking for about 15 months, and fallen pretty hard down the slope. I've bought humidors, all kinds of lighters, cutters and other toys.

I've bought plenty of fivers and samplers off of C-bid or other vendors when the price is right for me.

Part of it, for me, is the variety. I have yet to find a cigar that I said to myself, "I need 20 of these." I'm still inexperienced enough to not really know what I like yet.

So, those of you who have been down the path, how does one evolve to the point of buying boxes?
[Reply]
Footbag 07:13 AM 12-13-2008
My first box was for my my HS graduation party. LFD Flor de LaVonda. After that, I waited a long time. Then I bought my cabinet, and now I can store my boxes as long as I want.
[Reply]
Yazzie 07:17 AM 12-13-2008
Originally Posted by Tenor CS:
So, those of you who have been down the path, how does one evolve to the point of buying boxes?
Easy, just pull out your credit card and choose "Complete Order" :-)

Seriously though once you find something you consistently like, buy a few boxes. Part of the interest in this hobby for me is sampling a stick from the same box every few months or so and experiencing the changes the aging process brings. :-)
[Reply]
Volt 07:24 AM 12-13-2008
I'm sort of like you, I like the variety a bit much to pull the trigger on a box. I think I have bought may be 4 in a years time. It also kills a lot of the monthly budget at one shot, and I like buying cigars (maybe I need a shrink). Second consideration is the storage, I do quite will with the humi and a 72 qt cooler. Buying boxes would kill what room I have and limit teh variety.
[Reply]
joshpip 07:37 AM 12-13-2008
The first cigar I really enjoyed I ordered a box.

Pip
[Reply]