Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
General Discussion>Before I get overwhelmed...
RevSmoke 10:35 AM 12-20-2011
Before I get overwhelmed with the preparations for the multitude of services this next two weeks, I thought I'd write this note.

I am a Lutheran-Christian pastor, so this is not intended to slight anybody. If you would be offended by something with blatantly religious content, read no further. However, I would like to think that you will be glad if you do.

I'd wish you season's greetings, but that would mean that I wish you the things that come with the season for winter (back-breaking snow to shovel, ice, sleet, bitter cold, and the cold and flu "season"), and I don't really desire you to be "blessed" with those things. I could say happy holidays, but I would really be saying, "I'm going to say something generic in the hopes of not offending you - I don't mean anything when I say it, it just sounds nice and I hope it makes you feel good."

I'd also like to wish people the blessings of their given beliefs, but that would be disingenuous of me for I do not believe in those things (eg., if my Jewish friends wish me Merry Christmas it would in that same manner be disingenuous). MJ wished my Happy Hanukkah last night, and it was great - he meant it and I took it as his best wishes for me.

So, I'd like to wish you a Merry Christmas, but before I do, I think it best to explain what that Christmas blessing/wish means to me?

At Christmas, I pause to consider the first present given on Christmas, God's gift of His Son to take on human flesh and die for my sins so that I might have forgiveness and eternal life in His kingdom. And, as I ponder the love it would take to for a loving Father to make such a sacrifice of His only Son, I am humbled. It is a Christmas gift of God's love for me, even though I have not deserved or earned it.