Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
All Cigar Discussion>rookie with a draw question
G22inSC 08:44 PM 03-07-2011
I am embarrassed to ask this question; however, I figure I am just beginning to learn the world of cigars so here goes. I smoked a Padron 3000 the other day that was great (in my opinion). The B&M had labelled the cigar as mild/med but I think it was more on the med side. Great taste and a light "puff" every now and then would provide generous smoke. Now for my question. I just finished smoking a Gurkha Symphony that I just wanted to be over by the end. The taste was fine, but the draw was killing me. I would literally have to try to suck the cigar down my throat every 20-30 seconds to keep it going with little smoke at all. I honestly feel like my tongue/mouth are sore from drawing so hard.

The cigar's feel seemed fine to me except that it was a little hard right near the head. I assume that is the issue. In my rookie opinion, it was not to dry or wet. Is this what they mean about being overly "tight" or is something else going on? How do you alleviate this in the future? Thanks and sorry for the probably obvious pitiful question.
[Reply]
VirtualSmitty 08:50 PM 03-07-2011
Originally Posted by G22inSC:
I just finished smoking a Gurkha Symphony that I just wanted to be over by the end.
That's actually the standard reaction to smoking any Gurkha product, don't worry :-)
[Reply]
Bill86 08:50 PM 03-07-2011
1. Don't guy Gurkha (that's for you Tom :-), and the rest of the board)
2. In my experiences chopping the cap end about 1-1.5 inches off will fix the problem, or at least make it tolerable.
[Reply]
NCRadioMan 08:51 PM 03-07-2011
Sounds like it was plugged. You get those every once in a while since it's a handmade product they all won't be perfect. Padron comes very close. :-)

When I get a plugged cigar, I pitch it and grab another.