Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
All Cigar Discussion>Propane Patio Heaters- Affect Cigars?
parafumar 08:49 PM 11-16-2008
I am looking at a patio heater to make my smoking experience 'more stable' (shivering dislodges the ash too early).

Something like this:
http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...H15&lpage=none

Question is - does the propane heat have any 'propane fumes' or other odors that would interfere with the cigar aroma / taste?
[Reply]
loki 08:50 PM 11-16-2008
we had one inside at tri-shields herf and there were no ill affects
[Reply]
pnoon 08:52 PM 11-16-2008
I use the smaller table top model with absolutely no issues.
[Reply]
smokin5 08:53 PM 11-16-2008
I've been using outdoor propane patio heaters for the past two years,
& I don't notice any bad effects
& I don't notice any bad effects.
notice any bad effects.
any bad effects.
effects.
:-)

Seriously, though, haven't noticed a thing.
[Reply]
jaycarla 08:59 PM 11-16-2008
Nothing bad, pull the trigger!
[Reply]
parafumar 09:03 PM 11-16-2008
I think I may, found another one locally for $129 - though it is a stainless finish and I prefer the darker color... but for the price it may force my hand.

As for the heat - I have zero experienve here- is it 'dry your eyeballs out' heat the whole radius? How close do you need to sit to get the heat?

Also, I have 3 kids, all small - does the base of these get hot to the touch?

Thanks all.

Smokin5 - you sure you are ok up there? :-)
[Reply]
Vitis 09:13 PM 11-16-2008
I use a little short one and it works great without odor etc. if I didn't have a wooden roof above, Id get one like you are looking at.

~Vitis
[Reply]
parafumar 09:16 PM 11-16-2008
that is another concern - I am going to cover the patio in the (hopefully) near future - though I plan to use the metal roofing panels here so I think I will be ok...
[Reply]
alley00p 10:25 PM 11-16-2008