Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Island (The other ones) Reviews>Nestor Miranda Special Selection Lancero
DougBushBC 06:12 PM 05-07-2009
I was gifted this cigar in a PIF on Aficinado Forum, and was excited to try it, since I am just learning to love the Lancero.
Initial Inspection:
The Dark, Oily wrapper immediately reminds me of Nestor's OTHER popular smoke, the Don Lino Africa. This cigar is supposedly a Nicaraguan wrapper with Nicaraguan and Costa Rican filler. It is reported to be the private blend made for Nestor and his friends and family. The shape is perfect, with no visible flaws, and the pigtail at the head is nicely formed. The foot is well bunched.
Pre-light:
The first thing I notice about this cigar before smoking is how mild the aromas are. This would hold true to the other Don Linos I have smoked before. The pre-light draw is deliberate but not tight. The wisps that are released with the toasting are mild as well, with no ammonia. The initial draw after toasting is deliberate but the smoke is full and not the least bit harsh.
First Third:
The heavy volume of mellow smoke allows for a great tasting of the flavors. There are some rich, chocolatey notes as well as a little bit of mild sweetness. I am really enjoying this cigar already. I don't know why it has taken me so long to learn to love the lancero, but these last few I have smoked have all been exceptionally great for learning the flavors of the cigars. The draw was even and the burn was straight.
Second Third: