Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Accessory Discussion / Reviews>Zippo
sdoodle 10:03 AM 10-12-2014
So I'm just getting into cigars and I'm thinking about picking up a Zippo lighter since I've always been partial to them after years of seeing my Dad use one. I have heard that because of the fluid used in them Zippos can sometimes mess with the flavor of a cigar. Has anyone using Zippos noticed this? What is your go to lighter of choice?
[Reply]
Wharf Rat 12:16 PM 10-12-2014
You can get a Zplus insert that runs on butane and fits into the Zippo case. Best of both worlds...

As far as preferences in lighters, I'd use the search function. The debate goes on and on!
[Reply]
WhiteMamba 02:30 PM 10-12-2014
Try a Ronson jet lite it has the flip top like a Zippo but is butane. They're $3 or $4 at Walmart.
[Reply]
icehog3 11:16 PM 10-12-2014
Originally Posted by Wharf Rat:
You can get a Zplus insert that runs on butane and fits into the Zippo case. Best of both worlds...
I have 2 or 3 like this, like Bob said, best of both worlds.

The lighter fluid used in a traditional Zippo can impart a flavor to a discerning palate.
[Reply]
mjdx88 06:54 AM 10-13-2014
I'll add a + 1 for the Ronson. Spend the money saved on a nice cutter, humidor, cigars etc...
[Reply]
NCRadioMan 12:37 PM 10-13-2014
No on Zippo. Use a quality butane lighter. Torch or soft flame. Butane is odorless and tasteless, Zippo fluid is not.
[Reply]
STEVE S 01:26 PM 10-13-2014
The Zippo fluid can miss up the flavors in your cigar.
[Reply]
sdoodle 04:57 PM 10-14-2014
Originally Posted by WhiteMamba:
Try a Ronson jet lite it has the flip top like a Zippo but is butane. They're $3 or $4 at Walmart.
Thanks Michael I may have to give this one a shot.
[Reply]
GTsetGO 05:00 PM 10-14-2014
i use both the Ronson and I also have the Z insert for my Zippo. love them both but have been using the zippo more as of late.
[Reply]
sdoodle 05:07 PM 10-14-2014
Originally Posted by GTsetGO: