Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 4
1 23 > Last »
Accessory Discussion / Reviews>Ronson Jetlight
PCR 09:41 PM 09-18-2010
Bought four of these last month, all four have crapped out alreday. :-)
[Reply]
kelmac07 09:45 PM 09-18-2010
Originally Posted by PCR:
WOW...have been using one for almost a year now. Only use around the house, but still...purge and refill and she works like a champ.
[Reply]
md4958 09:47 PM 09-18-2010
kinda odd that four lighters would crap out... perhaps you just need to purge them?
[Reply]
PCR 10:02 PM 09-18-2010
Originally Posted by kelmac07:
WOW...have been using one for almost a year now. Only use around the house, but still...purge and refill and she works like a champ.
Funny, I did that too, refilled with Ronson fluid... still not woking. Time for a Blazer.
[Reply]
mobarbq 10:03 PM 09-18-2010
I did learn something about butane operations from refilling mine. I am by no means a butane expert, but I have learned that if you are not getting some sidespray and/or having the main chamber unit get very cold, you are probably not getting any fuel down inside the unit. You just think you are filling it, but you aren't-it isn't working. I think their input valve is not the same as it used to be. I initially thought mine had crapped out too, but it almost seemed like the input valve was either defective or had something inside it plugging it up. (Maybe some wax or something they put on it at the time of manufacture to protect it during shipping?) After playing with it, you should be or begin hearing an audible hiss when it is filling up and then the "overspray" of the butane escaping from around the intake valve will start freezing your fingers, etc. That means the lighter is full, having reached maximum capacity. Immediately stop and wait a full 30 minutes before trying to ignite the lighter. If you try to immediately use it, it will not work (and you will accordingly think it has crapped out on you). That's the story on how my ordeal went;