Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Accessory Discussion / Reviews>150-qt coolidor build research
Lockspur 08:20 PM 12-25-2012
Evening and Merry Christmas, everyone.

I'm researching building a 150-qt thingy (per the title) and after fondling the Igloo 152-Qt...I wasn't impressed with the latches/ability to stay closed. All three specimens I touched the latches seemed like after-thoughts.

How do they seal without the latches? Would I have to modify them to work better?

They didn't have any Coleman 150-qts on hand, so I have no experience with it.

Thanks in advance.
[Reply]
CigarNut 08:34 PM 12-25-2012
The contents of your cooler will not be under any sort of pressure so as long as the lid closes well you should be fine without latches. My Coleman coolers do not have latches and they seem to be doing fine. Just my :-)
[Reply]
SvilleKid 06:50 AM 12-26-2012
Scotty.... Are you planning on using the cooler sitting on it's bottom. or sitting on the side, cabinet-like? If you plan on using it like a cooler (sitting on it's bottom), as long as the seal is good, don't sweat the latch issue. If using upright like a cabinet, then I'd say it could well be an issue that you should remedy. Some coolers have interior slots that BOTL use as slots for shelves, and use the cooler like a cabinet. That's "upright". I assume they either have better latches on the ones they use, or devise an alternative. I'd imagine you could find half a dozen or more secure latches at most hardware stores, so I'd say pick one you like that will span the distances involved, and go with it, if using as an upright.

I personally use mine as chests, and stack them. None of mine have latches. And I use several smaller (70 qt or so) coolers verses larger ones, because they are easier to move, and can be tucked into closets and smaller places than the bigger coolers.
[Reply]
Lockspur 08:48 AM 12-26-2012