Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Wine, Beer, and Spirits>Makers Mark
elderboy02 06:36 AM 12-16-2008
Ok. I have never tried bourbon before. I was gifted a bottle of Makers Mark. I turn to you guys to suggest some drinks to make with it. I am new, so I don't think drinking it neat would be a great idea yet. Should I just mix it with Coke?

Thanks!
[Reply]
Mr.Maduro 06:38 AM 12-16-2008
Try some seltzer to start. That way you get the true taste of the bourbon, just diluted a little. The carbonation also helps bring out some underlying flavors in my opinion.

Maker's is a great starting point into the wonderful world of bourbon.
[Reply]
Parshooter 07:21 AM 12-16-2008
Maker's is good. A little overpriced, but the bottle looks cool. Pick up a bottle of Bulliet Bourbon. Less expensive, and I believe easier to drink. Just because you are new to bourbon, doesn't mean you can't start out drinking it the correct way: neat (or maybe with a cube or small spash).
[Reply]
GTsetGO 07:23 AM 12-16-2008
Makers is my favorite. love the sour mash stuff.
[Reply]
STYX&STONED 07:59 AM 12-16-2008
Originally Posted by Parshooter:
Maker's is good. A little overpriced, but the bottle looks cool. Pick up a bottle of Bulliet Bourbon. Less expensive, and I believe easier to drink. Just because you are new to bourbon, doesn't mean you can't start out drinking it the correct way: neat (or maybe with a cube or small spash).
I sure dont do it very often but, I must agree with shooter on this one!!:-)
[Reply]
Volt 08:04 AM 12-16-2008
Ok, bourbon is like cigars... what works for one, will not work for another. But, my .02:

Makers is an excellant bourbon, a bit of bite on teh back end but smooth up fron and great flavors.

A better beginner bourbon might be Evan Williams Single Barrell - It's 10 years old, nice smokey up front taste and a slight peppery finish. Much less bite than the Makers.