[Reply]
pektel 01:39 PM 05-21-2012
<--- This guy does.
[Reply]
DBall 01:40 PM 05-21-2012
Here too... :-)
[Reply]
area51 01:44 PM 05-21-2012
What do you guys play? Ive been messing around with acoustic for the past couple years grew up playing electric.
[Reply]
pektel 01:52 PM 05-21-2012
I learned on acoustic. It's still what I grab the majority of the time. I have a MIM strat that gets a little time, but have to wear headphones to get it loud enough to enjoy it (I have 2 kids).

My current acoustic is an old Takamine jasmine something or other I bought probably 8 years ago from a buddy. It's my kick around guitar. I bring it camping, to festivals, etc. While I enjoy playing "nicer" guitars, I don't think I could own one. Unless I started playing professionally or something. My guitar gets it's share of abuse.

I mostly play rock, blues, jam band, reggae type stuff. I really enjoy trying to get a percussive sound out of the guitar while playing. Something like this. I found this video on youtube, and finally am able to play it after a good week of trying to get the rhythm part down, and being able to sing along with it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zn8R9GGxxA4
[Reply]
area51 01:56 PM 05-21-2012
Thats awesome. Like I said I grew up playing a Washburn electric then crossed over to acoustic. I have and Epiphone, Crafter and Eastman. The first two are my beaters the Eastman is my prized possession I guess you could say. I play around 5 - 7 shows a month as well as various open mics. Its a fun hobby to have.
[Reply]
pektel 02:03 PM 05-21-2012
I've never played more than a few open mic's, and some weddings (me on acoustic guitar -finger picked arpeggio style- plus my brother on violin makes a pretty sweet Pachelbel's Canon in D).

I have a problem with stage fright. Normally goes away after the first song though.
[Reply]
area51 02:11 PM 05-21-2012
Also depends on how much you're drinking.
[Reply]
pektel 02:12 PM 05-21-2012