Cigar Asylum Cigar Forum Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
All Cigar Discussion>I want some Plume!
Titan410 06:46 PM 12-16-2009
I've been storing some cigars in a coolerdor and Vino for two years. No plume. I've never had a cigar with plume and I've been hoping to find one or two developing it but no dice.
Temps are about 68 and humidity is 65-70.
Does storing cigars in the cello prevent or inhibit plume in any way?

I was at a B&M in Fredericksburg in the summer and they had some on the shelves with plume and I was tempted to buy one but didn't. Now I'm regretting it.
[Reply]
cort 07:08 PM 12-16-2009
Originally Posted by Titan410:
I've been storing some cigars in a coolerdor and Vino for two years. No plume. I've never had a cigar with plume and I've been hoping to find one or two developing it but no dice.
Temps are about 68 and humidity is 65-70.
Does storing cigars in the cello prevent or inhibit plume in any way?

I was at a B&M in Fredericksburg in the summer and they had some on the shelves with plume and I was tempted to buy one but didn't. Now I'm regretting it.
It was probably mold:-)
[Reply]
Titan410 07:10 PM 12-16-2009
Originally Posted by Cort:
It was probably mold:-)
I've tried to convince myself of that. :-)
[Reply]
cort 07:12 PM 12-16-2009
Originally Posted by Titan410:
I've tried to convince myself of that. :-)
:-):-)
[Reply]
NCRadioMan 07:18 PM 12-16-2009
FWIW, plume doesn't make a cigar taste better. Some cigars will plume, others won't. It's just an indicator of good storage.
[Reply]
pnoon 07:30 PM 12-16-2009
I've never understood the pre-occupation w/plume.

NCRadioMan is correct. It is indicative of proper storage. It doesn't affect the flavor or smokeability of the cigar.
:-)
[Reply]
Namerifrats 08:19 PM 12-16-2009
I've had a few cigars develop a little plume. Usually a dusty white look. I don't really like it and smoke them as soon as I notice it. I like oily shiny wrappers.
[Reply]
JJG 08:23 PM 12-16-2009